Home > Life > Life Rears its Ugly Head

Life Rears its Ugly Head

So… the laptop-on-bus thing didn’t work out.

Warning: this is pretty much just a rant – something I want to write just because it’s been much too long since I’ve sat down and written anything.

I’m still working the same job, but I’ve been looking for somewhere else to go.  I’ve done a lot of thinking about work and life, and the conclusion is that I absolutely have to find another job,  because I have no future if I stay where I am.

I’ll just say it now: I hate my job.  But I’m going to try to be fair and lay out how I feel about it, and hopefully this will make some sense.

I’m a tech writer at a small company.  Objectively speaking, my job is not that bad.  The hours are flexible, the dress code is relaxed, the people are nice, and there is pretty much no office drama to speak of.  The work is relatively easy, but boring.  The pay is pretty bad for a job that expects university and a post-graduate education, but it’s not exactly minimum wage, either.

My job is the perfect place for a 50- or 60-something who just wants something to ride to retirement.

It is absolutely not the kind of job for a 20-something such as myself, who is trying to start his career and figure out what he wants to do with his life.

The problem is that this job does not have any benefits for the future.  It makes iterations of the same existing products, so it rarely creates anything new.  It uses very few tools that are used in the business.  There are no senior workers at the company in my field that I can learn from.  There is no chance of going to conferences to meet up with like-minded people that I can learn from, or network with.  There is no chance of a salary increase.

This means that if I stay here, I will not learn any new skills that carry over to future jobs, will not find anyone that I can learn from, and will not be able to save up enough money for things I may do in the near future.  Namely, things such as getting my own place and starting a family.  It will not help me find any future jobs, aside from incrementing the number of years I’ve worked in the field.  In fact, it may harm my prospects of finding work because if I stay here, I’ll become someone who has years of experience on paper but barely knows how to do anything.

In the two years I have worked here, my job has worn me down more than I would have thought possible.  I think very differently compared to the way I did before, and I have become much more cynical.  However, I think I have learned a lot about life in the process.  I want to write something out about this sometime, but with my update schedule, it probably won’t happen anytime soon.

 

Categories: Life
  1. January 15, 2012 at 3:53 PM

    Clearly you need a god from an alternate dimension to summon you into his world to fight and end a ongoing 1000 year war…

    So the way it sounds right now, this may just be my ramblings but it seems like even being unemployed might be more beneficial to you for finding another job than staying with this one. At least if you’re unemployed, you’ll be motivated to find work because of your situation, and because if you have more free time you can spend it on developing skills which you can’t do right now due to your current work status. Of course, you have more experience with both so I could be absolutely wrong. I also think its bad for me to suggest to you to quit your job… so, 😐 I hope you can make out the best for your situation.

  2. Akuun
    January 15, 2012 at 9:40 PM

    Yeah, I’ve come to pretty much the same conclusions. Quitting my job would give me the time and energy to job hunt more/develop my skills but in the end, crappy pay is still better than no pay at all. That may change later, and especially if I find some way to make money on the side while I’m between jobs, but for the time being, I’m going to keep grinding away at my skills and sanity and hope I find a new job soon.

    It is true that I think my job has actually been detrimental to my skills, though. I think my sense for writing has gotten much worse over the years I’ve worked here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

