Home > Life > Taking a Step Back

Taking a Step Back

After giving it a lot of thought, I’ve quit my job.  My last day was almost two weeks ago, and I think I’m starting to feel better.  It’s nice to have time to recover from the grind.  I don’t regret it one bit – I was getting much too cynical and pessimistic for my own good.

It’s just not worth grinding away my life in a place that presents  absolutely no future.  I’ve decided to take some time to step back, figure out what I want to do with my life, and brush up on a few things while I’m at it.

My title as a tech writer was a bit of a misnomer; I actually spent most of my time copying and pasting rather than writing.  As a result, I feel like my writing skill has gotten worse, and I’ve gotten worse at picking out common writing errors at a glance.  Not good.

One of the things I intend to do to recover from this is to spend more time writing.  I know blogging is not the most formal, strenuous form of writing, but the way I see it, it’s as useful as you make it.  If you treat it like a serious piece of writing and check it over just as thoroughly as you would anything you would submit as a writing sample, then it could be good practice.

Over the next few days, I’m going to post a write up about things I’ve learned from my job.  It’s the result of a lot of idle thoughts regarding the shift from student life to work life, and though a lot of it may sound like common sense, I hope it’ll be at least interesting to read.

Categories: Life
  1. February 4, 2017 at 12:11 AM

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum
    it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate
    it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

